top of page

Six Aerodyne Industries Employees honored at the 2023 Annual Awards Banquet at Kennedy Space Center

March 5, 2024

Six Aerodyne Industries employees were honored with 2023 Annual Awards for their support to the Consolidated Operations, Management, Engineering & Test (or COMET) contract at the Kennedy Space Center at the annual Illuminations Award Banquet held Feb. 24, 2024, at the Rosen Single Creek Resort in Orlando.

Headlining the sextet was Sean Guertin, who received Aerodyne’s President’s Award, which is given to an individual who has made significant contributions to the success of the company. Other honorees included Jeremy Painter, Zachary Ross (photo not available), Craig Tretheway, David Waters and Perry Wiseman.

Guertin is Flow Manager for the Mobile Launcher (or ML) and Multi-Element Verification Validation, where he is responsible for integrating multiple schedules for KSC and construction contractors.  This includes planning and integration of extensive repairs to the ML, preplanned construction modification as well as other critical milestones.  

He assumed the role of Flow Manager in December 2021, where he worked as the Integrated Operations Chief, working directly with other Element Flow Managers, Area Integrators, Engineering, Shop and Quality personnel.


“I am both humbled and in awe at being selected to receive the Aerodyne Presidents award, said Guertin.  “This is truly a reflection of the amazing Aerodyne/COMET Team I am privileged to lead.

“To continue our successful Artemis II launch campaign, teamwork is vital, and COMET veterans and new folks alike have stepped up to the challenge, are completely engaged, and contributing the very best they have to offer. There's a long, sometimes frustrating, road ahead of us, and we will get there together as a team.”

Guertin joined Aerodyne as a Master Planner in 2017.  Prior to that, he spent ten years with United Space Alliance supporting the Space Shuttle Program and was an Aerostat Operator in Afghanistan.  He previously graduated from the Defense Language Institute, where he became a Russian Linguist for the United States Air Force. 

Painter, an Industrial Hygienist, was honored with an Innovation Excellence Team Award for support to the Hearing Conservation Program.  He was among a trio recognized for developing a series of proactive tools designed to prevent hearing loss for their co-workers. 

“I was surprised and humbled in receiving the COMET Innovation Excellence Award,” Painter said.  “It’s wonderful to be recognized for protecting and affording the best protection for my fellow coworkers.  I feel a deeper sense of appreciation for my career choice and the colleagues I glean information and experience from.”


Ross, a Senior Engineer for the Flight Processing Electrical Power System (or EPS) and Pyrotechnics Team, received a Superior Performance Award in Operations for resolving critical software testing issues at the Integrated Testing Lab in Denver, CO.  His technical expertise and leadership abilities are a primary reason he was chosen to lead the EPS team for Artemis II. 

With such a young workforce, it is critical to have a voice leading the way for a new generation of engineers in human space flight.  Zachary Ross is that voice.

Tretheway, Waters and Wiseman were recognized with the Teamwork Award for support to the Payload and Spacecraft Mechanical Engineering Space Station Processing Facility Technicians Team.  The trio was recognized for their superior work completing the flight processing and integration of the Pump Module (or PM) on schedule to support the launch of SpaceX 30.

“It felt good to receive the award and be recognized,” said Tretheway.  “It was a team effort with everyone working hard to achieve our goal and making sure the project was completed to the best of our ability.”

“It was a pleasure to work with such an outstanding and dedicated team to work through a very challenging process to get the Pump Module ready to fly,” said Waters.

“While I am excited to receive this award, I am even more proud to be part of something bigger than myself,” said Wiseman.  “It was definitely, at times, challenging when various equipment didn’t present the results we had anticipated, yet we persevered through innovation, communication, and having a positive approach to those situations. 

“I thank my fellow teammates and all engineering departments for their help along the way to see this critical mission a success.” 

 “We are so proud of all of our honorees,” said CEO Andrew Allen.  “Their dedication and support are a primary reason we continue to have the opportunity to support NASA and the Artemis Program for many years to come.”

Sean Guertin Jeremy Painter Zachary Ross

Craig Tretheway David Waters Perry Wiseman

About Aerodyne Industries LLC 

Aerodyne Industries LLC is a Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business (SDVOSB) that was established in 2006 by CEO Andrew "Andy" Allen.  We are headquartered in Cape Canaveral, FL with a primary focus on serving NASA programs and resolving NASA’s most challenging technical issues. 

A seasoned business executive and program manager, Mr. Allen is a former Marine aviator who has logged more than 6,000 flight hours in more than 30 different aircraft.  He is also a veteran NASA astronaut, Space Shuttle Pilot and Mission Commander.  

Aerodyne Industries is a subcontractor on the Consolidated Operations, Management, Engineering & Test (COMET) contract at the Kennedy Space Center.  The contract provides overall management and implementation of ground systems capabilities, flight vehicle/spacecraft processing and launch, landing and recovery operations at KSC.  These tasks support the International Space Station, Exploration Ground Systems, Space Launch System, Orion Multi-Purpose Crew Vehicle, Launch Services Program, and other NASA programs, commercial venture, and partnerships at KSC. 

Media inquiries:

John Janokaitis, Chief of Media Relations

Telephone:  (321) 427-7364; e-mail: 

Tori Upton, Social Media

Telephone:  (267) 698-8588; e-mail:

Carl McManus, Business Manager

Telephone:  (321) 613-2948; e-mail:


bottom of page